My Weekend

I’m going to start posting photos of my weekend adventures so I’ll get in the habit of using my camera more often (as if I don’t already)… Anyway, the idea is to document and share because I find myself wishing that I had taken photos of this or that, etc., for example, I attended an artist’s lecture at our photography museum last night and I didn’t get one shot. Since a lot of student photographers attended, a lot of people were using it as an opportunity to get some good shots. Oh well, there will be plenty of those. In fact, I’ll be attending two more this week. We have to write papers on them, too. So I definitely don’t have a shortage of things to do.

On Friday, I did a little thrifting around town while I ran some errands. I didn’t find anything too exciting, so I went home and worked on organizing my Etsy shop inventory. I also started going to the gym again last week, so I’m super excited about that and happy to be doing that again. I am, however, very sore. On Saturday, I worked at the surf shop and then went to the Karen Glaser exhibition at our school museum. It was my first one, so I didn’t know what to expect. She was very down to earth and gave a really great speech on her work, which is underwater photography in Florida springs and swamps. Since I’m a native Floridian, I found it interesting and beautiful. I had been to most of the locations, so it was great to see the underwater world. She manages to make swamps look beautiful and inviting. Check out her photos here.

We also checked out a new Thai restaurant in town, which is something we’ve wanted to do for about a month or so. It was really great, all around. The atmosphere was nice, and the food was fresh and delicious. Up until now, we had to drive about 1/2 hour to the nearest Thai place, which wasn’t so hot, so we’re thankful for this new place. Again, too bad I didn’t get any shots. Next time, I will.

One of the great things that happened this week was that we finally found (after a long search) a table for our deck. It’s a round iron hairpin leg table (base only), so Kelly is working on the top as I type. He’s sanding the edge right now, but I’ll save the before and after for another post…

Our new outdoor table, some new reading material, and lots of boots/shoes up for sale in my Etsy shop!

School requires me to do a lot of photography related reading. Here’s the latest two books I’m into now, along with my textbooks…

Boots/shoes galore! They’ll be added to my Etsy shop as soon as I can get the photos edited and descriptions written. I’d better get to work!

Leave a Reply

