Bathroom before & after Part 1

I’m excited to finally get some photos together for a bathroom post. We spent a lot of time on it, and we’re really happy with the results! Here’s what we did…

  1. removed sink, cabinet & toilet
  2. deep cleaned the aqua tile & grout (this was one of the most time consuming things)
  3. removed floor tile
  4. scraped glue from terrazzo floor
  5. Kelly refinished the tub
  6. replaced toilet
  7. replaced sink & installed new faucet

Here’s what we saw when we had our first look at the house. Even though it had that ugly swan shower door staring me in the face, all I could see was the aqua tile. I was so happy it had the original tile in my favorite color! I was instantly inspired.

I immediately started brainstorming about what we could do. First on the list was to remove the shower doors, cabinet/sink and then the toilet.

Then I chipped up the old tile that was placed over the original terrazzo. That task was very satisfying and surprisingly easy.

As soon as I started to remove the glue, I knew it wouldn’t be as easy to remove as the tile. It basically took me all day. But it was sooo worth it!

Once I removed the glue, Kelly started working on refinishing the tub. Here’s a before shot.

After he finished the tub, we let it dry for a few days and then he installed the new sink and faucet.

Here’s my favorite part! The new sink & faucet!

Detail shot of the faucet. Love!

Here’s the refinished tub and new toilet. Kelly did a great job!

So now we’re putting the finishing touches on the bathroom. Here’s what we have left to do…

  • install wall cabinet
  • install new vanity light
  • have mirror cut
  • install mirror

We’re getting close and I’ll post pictures soon for part 2 of the bathroom before & after. Have a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “Bathroom before & after Part 1

  1. Bathroom looks great guys! Kim, I can’t even imagine how difficult it was get that glue up off that terrazzo floor. However, I’m glad you did. I was curious what Kelly did to refinish the bathtub? I’ve always thought the tub refinishing process left less than good results, but ya’lls turned out very good.
    So happy you got the house, and are under way with the remodel.

    Best
    Sam

  2. Thanks so much, Sam! Yes, we were skeptical about the refinishing kit for the bathroom. It’s an enamel paint kit especially for refinishing tubs, sinks and tile, by a brand called Homax. We read some reviews and they weren’t so good, but Kelly decided to give it a go anyway and we’re glad. The most important step (as with anything) was the prep work. We were really happy overall with the results, so now we’ll see how it wears over time. We figured anything was better than the off-pink tub, and we couldn’t really replace it without ripping out and destroying the vintage minty tile, which is what we love so much about the bathroom.
    Everything is moving right along and our next step is the kitchen. It will probably be a few months before that is completed because Kelly has to make custom cabinet doors and the counter top will be a lot of work. I’m really looking forward to that!

    Cheers!
    Kim & Kelly

Leave a Reply

