A personal note.

My apologies for the lack of posts lately. I’ve been sick with a bad cold, which doesn’t happen to me often and I’m still adjusting to caring for my 5 year old grandson. I also think that all of the life changes this year have finally caught up with me. I’m typically very healthy and take care of myself, but I’ve been slowly straying from a healthy diet/exercise since my mom passed away in February. I also lost my sister 3 years ago, and she was my best friend. Needless to say, it’s a bit much for me to handle at times, but I always try to be strong and maintain a positive attitude. I’m always a bit reluctant to share my private life, but sometimes it’s just necessary. All of this has made me stronger, more empathetic, and I see people in a different light. You just never know what someone is going through, or where they’ve been.

I’m turning over a new leaf now and making the necessary steps toward a healthier lifestyle. Here’s my list of things to change…

✚ Eliminate stress (a tough one)

✚ Exercise more

✚ Change diet, less sodium (I have pre-hypertension)

✚ Kick the caffeine habit (so difficult, but I’ve done it before)

So my main problem is stress… loads of it. I’m only 40 and I’ve recently discovered that I have pre-hypertension. I don’t smoke, hardly drink, and I’m at an ideal weight. The problem is, it runs in my family. If I can think of a way to manage my stress, then hopefully I can get my BP down to normal levels. It’s no surprise to me since I’m a high-strung person and I think way too much! I’m determined to change things, and I’m treating it as a wake-up call.

I know everyone has problems, and I’m not trying to be Ms. Gloom & Doom here. This is just my reality now, and I felt the need to share. I’d like to thank everyone for taking the time to check out my blog. It’s definitely a bright spot in my life. xoxo

10 thoughts on “A personal note.

  1. Hi Kim. Sorry you’ve been feeling under the weather. I loved that you opened up so much and shared a little personal stuff here. It’s good to remember that although we blog about all the fabulous finds, wonderful renovations, lovely days at the beach,etc… that we are all struggling with something. ALL OF US! Gettin’ real is cool, I think.

    Since our birthdays are only a day apart … I can feel those years creeping up and approaching my mid-40’s is a trip. Your body just changes… without it even asking your permission. It gets more and more difficult to find the time to eat right, exercise, and keep those stress levels down… because at this stage it’s probably the busiest time of our lives. Having a young guy in the house to keep up with can’t be easy. I’m happy you’re being kind to yourself, taking a deep breath and working toward being healthier as you come up on the big B-DAY! ME TOO, KIM! It’s a work in progress… I really want that cinnamon roll and that extra glass of wine but it’s probably better if I didn’t. I’ve started back with my running and I’ve got the same mindset you do lately. I hope it makes us both feel better…. cuz GIRL.. you look like a million bucks! I want you to feel like a million too! Lovely photo.

    If it helps at all.. you’re not alone! And I love this post.

      • Absolutely! The loss of any loved one is devastating but a mom and a sister are two of the most important people in your life. The loss is so great and the grief of that takes a toll on you physically and mentally. I’m so sorry. But your healthy attitude is what will get you through. The other lifestyle changes just make everything a little easier to deal with. Stress is a real “B”. Wishing you well today, Kim. Hang in there. Many people care and understand.

  2. hang in there, kim. thanks for sharing. sounds like you have some great goals to attain and need encouragement along the way. so from little ol’ me, stay the course, you have my support and i’m cheer leading you all the way! xo

  3. Hey Kim,so sorry for all the stuff that’s come your way. It’s too bad that this world can’t just be a little easier on us sometimes. It seems to love to beat us down,doesn’t it? I’m glad you let us in on some of your troubles but there is no need to apologize for “lack of posts”. Life is life and blogs are…Well,you get the idea. Loving your instagram stuff! Did you ever find me? I honestly never looked. :p
    Have a great weekend girl. And FYI-no way your a grandmother! Your gorgeous!
    Ok,enough of this…Go do something fun!!!

  4. Thank you, Paul! I found you on Instagram, but you were set to private. I’ll check again..
    ..and thanks so much for your support! My blog friends really brighten my day. 🙂

  5. just wanted to say thank you for your honesty! i have been a big fan of your etsy store for awhile and just found your blog. i just turned 39 and moved to titusville, fl for my husband’s job. we are trying to kick unhealthy habits too and hoping the florida sunshine will help with that and get us out and moving. i also have some health issues and i have a 2 year old so i can so, so relate. it’s really tough to take time to take care of yourself when there are little ones around. just know you are not alone! reading this encouraged me to know i am not the only one….

    • Thank you so much! Your comment really made my day.. It’s so nice to be able to reach out to other people who are going through similar things. It was really hard to reveal the not-so-good stuff, but now I’m so glad I did. Thank you so much for your comment, and I hope you can find some time for yourself too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

